Varsity 2013: LV Parents

I’ve spent the last 2 weeks raving about my girls. Truth is, none of their dedication is possible without the people who fund, drive, and care for their dreams.

Over the last 4 years, this group of parents has backed the following crazy/stupid/over-the-top Mr. Little ideas:

  • Supported our fundraiser for new uniforms with their labor and time, supplies, advertising, etc.
  • Drove to Neuqua Valley High School in Naperville for games in a travel league.
  • Drove to Lemont High School over the summer for league games.
  • Drove to Providence High School to sweat all summer and play in twice as many games.
  • Drove to Evanston High School to be trained by Alan Stein, basketball trainer extraordinaire.
  • Attended clinics held by Jay Wolf of “Star Shooter” fame.
  • Attended clinics by Brian McCormick, basketball author and trainer.
  • Traveled to Willowbrook, Bolingbrook, DGS, Montini, Sandburg, and Hinsdale Central High Schools to watch the best players in the state and learn from them.
  • Supported a variety of scrimmage games, including one prior to a Hinsdale South-DGS game last season.
  • Allowed the girls to come in to school over the summer, early in the morning on school days, stay late after practice, and brought them in on days off for training and open gyms.
  • Babysit MY son as I work with the girls during any of these things. This would be as simple as watching him at games, taking him to the bathroom while I coach, or taking him into their homes for a few hours during practices.

All of this in addition to the typical school schedule of practices and games.

I began coaching to work with players that loved basketball. To help them become passionate about this and work hard to accomplish their individual and team goals. I was lucky to find a school with parents that supported that idea of education. That, really, is what this is – just another form of education. There are many good coaches out there, but not all of them have parents who do all of the following, and even make a giant “fathead” to wave at games. Success on the floor may be been expected, but has never been taken for granted. My efforts have always been appreciated by them, which encourages me to only do more for their kids.

I have former parents come back to watch games. They give me some feedback and give me valuable insight as I learn this game more. They let their daughters come back and help me out. They travel to schools just to keep the book for me. They give me parenting advice. All in all, they’re as much a part of this program as their kids are. Sure, it couldn’t happen without them. But it wouldn’t be the same without them either.

Thanks, Mom and Dad!

4 thoughts on “Varsity 2013: LV Parents

  1. It’s actually a cool and useful piece of info. I’m satisfied that you just shared this helpful info with us.
    Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

Comments are closed.