Last Few History Fair Notes

As we close in on History Fair, I want to try to answer as many questions as possible. I’ve composed this post over a couple of days, trying to compile many common Q & A into one thing. I know it’s long, but don’t want to send 8 different e-mails.
  1. Expectations – I have absolutely no idea what to expect. All I know is that I set a high standard for students, they worked very hard for 2 months in class, and we selected the best projects to take to NIU. Having seen last year’s Fair, I believe we compare favorably, but participating in one is different. In our first year, we’ve done the best we possibly could do, and I’m immensely proud of the work the students have invested and the support parents have given. The kids have learned a great deal, and, regardless of competition, nothing changes what they’ve accomplished. Happy to have worked along side them the last few months, and excited to experience this thing in 2 days!
  2. “Down Time” is around 10:30-1:30.  Most of you will be with your kids. I’ll be responsible for a few of them, which is fine, just please let me know so I can plan. Students should bring money for lunch, something to work on, and have emergency info with them (or a phone) should I need it. Whenever you take your children, be it for lunch, if you’re driving them home from NIU, or for whatever reason, come sign them out with me. I have to make sure all kids are accounted for, so please come find me in the student center before taking your kids. I know it’s a pain to park and come in, but this is the safety of our students.
  3. The Fair opens to everyone around 1:30, with Awards and Closing ceremonies between 3 and 4. You’re good to clean up and go home at 4! The bus should arrive back at LV around 5:30, I’m assuming.
  4. Students should have their projects, their summary statement, and bibliographies with them. I would recommend 2 copies of paperwork, just in case an accident happens. They don’t need to be presented in any fancy manner – just neatly printed, aligned and organized before printed (same font size, same margins, grammar, etc).
  5. Parking is in the garage south of the NIU Library, as well as in the lot west of the Library. Directions to the Holmes Student Center are located here: http://www.niu.edu/hsc/maps/index.shtml For GPS purposes, the address is 340 Carroll Ave, DeKalb, IL 60115.
  6. Dress should be respectable… nothing formal, but something like “church clothes” would be nice, so we’re represented well. Jeans are probably okay if they’re nice and you’re not wearing a honey badger t-shirt, but whatever you wear, just represent us nicely!
  7. Enthusiasm is nice, but please, nobody should arrive prior to 8:30 for set-up. The HF organizers kindly thank you!
  8. Again, a collection of helpful info is here: http://www.niu.edu/clasep/fairs/history/index.shtm
  9. I’ll be at LV around 6:30 or 7:00 am on Saturday morning. I can’t guarantee entry into LV for supplies, so bring what you need home on Friday so you have it on Saturday morning. The bus will leave at 7:30 am.
  10. If you have any day-of-History Fair emergencies or problems, email me at jakebig13@gmail.com  That goes to my phone, and I’ll be able to check it more quickly, provided I’m not handling some other emergency. I’m guessing the hours between 8:30 am and 10:00 am will be quite frantic :)
  11. Please respond to this email with a “we’re good!” or some kind of confirmation of preparation. Or if you have questions. Just want to make sure everyone’s set – kids are checking in fine, but sometimes that’s different than what parents think! I plan to work at school fairly late tonight (after our 5-6:30 meeting), so I’ll be able to help if you have questions.
Thanks again for putting up with me and my academic ambition the last few months. I really can’t wait to show these kids off.
