Expectations

First day. Good Stuff.

Love the enthusiasm in the air. The key is maintaining it, not getting too caught up in the stress of MAP’s and everyday work. Happens every year, though. I do my best to feed off the great excitement kids have. I really think 7th grade is the best year our kids have at LV because of the curriculum, the teachers, and the mentality of children at this age. the next 9 months are going to be amazing.

I laid my expectations down for the kids today.

Because I let them pick their seats on the first day, it creates instant interest in what I expect of them. If they respect the lessons I prepare and each other, they can keep those seats. If they work hard and challenge themselves, same.

But I also asked them what they expect of me. Or any teacher. These are their expectations:

  • To challenge me
  • To make lessons fun
  • Get off topic every now and then to make a connection
  • To work in groups and as individuals
  • EET. Explain. Entertain. Tell great stories.
  • Be kind.
  • Be responsible.
  • Not to be on their cell phones.
  • To have fun projects.
  • Tell great stories.
  • Teach us things we’ve never learned before.
  • Be creative.
  • Use games to help us learn.
  • Make things competitive.
  • Teach productively – don’t waste our time.
  • Pay attention to us. Like, don’t be on cell phones (3 teachers cited as being on their phones instead of teaching!!!)
  • Work hard for me.

There were a few more, but I think these represent what our students think of us. Pretty cool… we’ve got some high expectations to live up to. Better get to work.

26 thoughts on “Expectations

  1. Michael Zurales

    I like that you put all the extra work in. I know the lessons will be fun.

    Your Favorite Student,

    Michael Zurales

  2. Tauras Rugienius

    I think the rules are fair and I know i am your favorite student not Micheal. I know this year will be fun

  3. Lauren Krause

    I like that you care about what we have to say and our opinions. Im looking forward to a great year.

    Period 5

  4. James David

    I like the idea that we have expectations for students and we have expectations of our teachers. Fair is fair after all.

    James (not Christopher or Emily) David

    period 4.

  5. Jonathan

    Hey I just like the way that you can adapt to all the students standards.i know for sure that this will be the best time in my Lakeview Years
    Jonathan Maghirang YOLO!!!!!!!!!

  6. Matthew LaRue

    These are some great expectations! I know I will have a great year in your class from your personality and your expectations (and from what my sister has said.)
    Period 6 -Matthew LaRue

  7. Maddie Manganiello

    I really like how you listen to all of our ideas and thoughts! I think your a great role model for all of us! This year will be be great!
    Maddie Manganiello P. 4

  8. Sydney Antiporek

    Thanks for listening to us and not boring us to death on the first day. I think that if the first day is going to be like the rest of the year its going to be a blast !

    Period 4

  9. andy seitz P8

    Ithink that this is going to be a good year becasue you will be teaching us in a different style then other teachers.

  10. Kaitlyn Wiseman

    I think your class is great and you are too! I love that you listened to us and took us seriously.
    Kaitlyn Wiseman Period 3

  11. Kyla

    I am really looking forward to this class! The expectations seem like a great way to always keep class interesting, yet still learn at the same time.
    Kyla Brown, period 4

  12. Mia Pinto

    I think that it is great that you listened to what we had to say. This will be an awesome year with you! Period 4

  13. Hailwy Rodden P.6

    These expectations cover the rules of the classroom. I look forward to learn about this years social studies curriculum.

  14. Keiran Burke

    Thanks for letting us choose our own seats and for trusting us

    Your fav student,

    Keiran (not Cormac) Burke

  15. Teddy Surdyk

    I think that it is a good thing that you will challenge our class! I think that it is too cool that you want our opinion about what we expect from our teachers!!
    Thanks!
    Teddy Surdyk

Comments are closed.