Extra Credit Genealogy Activity

I am offering an extra credit assignment to be completed some time before I am done teaching on May 4th. Here are the basic guidelines:

I would like you to take a look at one of your “ancestor’s” lives. If you know the name of one of your ancestors who lived in the 1800s, then great! If not, don’t worry about it. Talk about a random person who could have been your ancestor and then write about the life he or she may have lived.

For example, if you know that you are Italian, then write a research paper about what life would have been like for an Italian person living in Italy during the Italian Unification. Another example would be living in Mexico under Porfirio Diaz. The point of this assignment is to learn more about your ancestry by researching the history of a particular country. There really are no exact requirements because this is an extra credit assignment. The more work you put in, the more points you will get.

Let me or Mr. Little know if you have any questions or need any help. I would be more than happy to find some books for you to use at my library if you are interested.

