The Chicago Project

Click Here for Project Description

This is easily the 7th graders favorite project. A few changes have streamlined the process, while actually doing quite a bit more work. Successful completion of the project requires 5 things:

  1. Identifying and researching around an objective (“Big Question”). Each student has selected one. Due 12/4
  2. Identifying and reading at least 10 resources per person. Due to limited IMC availability, this will be largely web resources. I’ve already found great web resources here, though students can use the IMC’s books, I have provided some of my own, and I’m sure your library has some, too.  Here is a sample of what that Resource Sheet should look like. Due 12/9
  3. Making 20 notecards per person, ensuring that they’ve got enough facts to build a project around. Due 12/11
  4. Having a “rough draft” or well structured plan of their project. Due 12/15.
  5. Presenting the project to explain how that helped you learn/answer your objective “Big Question.” This is due with the final product on 12/17.

A few things are banned in my classroom: styrofoam, any kind of paint, glitter and hot glue guns.

The project is designed to guide all work around answering an objective – purposeful research. We’re not doing a craft or an art project, but researching an answer to a Big Question. The product (building, scrapbook, etc.) is simply a fun way to SHOW what we’ve learned. This project also makes students accountable throughout the project, not just at the due date. And finally, the 4 due dates before the final due date should prevent the kids from cramming the last night or two before. Some of that is inevitable, but your kids shouldn’t be saying at dinner on 12/16 “Can I go to the library? I have to do this project tonight?”

The only downside the the limited availability of the IMC.  Our research will be largely web-driven.  Once again, here is a link to 15 resources I have found to be helpful. Obviously, there are much more, but this is a start!

Wikipedia's Clickable Skyline Picture

Above is a great, labeled picture of the skyline (a good starting point for 3D poster people?). You can’t click on it here, but if you go here to Wikipedia’s page, you can do so. It’s great for identifying many buildings you know by sight, but not by name. Better yet, it’s clickable – you can click on the picture and it brings you to wikipedia’s article on that building. I love Wikipedia for this project!

Please, communicate with my any concerns or problems along the way.  We will spend approximately 220-240 minutes working on this in class.  That’s quite a bit of time, but some time will still be needed outside of the classroom.  Please plan accordingly!

4 thoughts on “The Chicago Project

  1. Mr. Little

    Hey Dana,

    You’ll get specific details on Wednesday regarding your project (paper, length, etc.).

    And yes, you may use other sources.

  2. MR. LITTLE!!!!! So I was doing my math home work enjoying my bus ride I now limitidly get,when my pensil bag fell WITH MY NOTE CARDS IN IT AND THERE NOW GONE LEFT ON THE BUS WICH IS LONG GONE NOW AND I DON’T WHAT TO DO!!!
    See I only had 17 note cards and like 12 of them only had the subject on them and i was planning on finishing them to night because its gunna take like 2 hours to finish them and now there on the BUS wich means im gunna get a late wich stinks because Im not into the whole late thing and neither are my parents soo ya just letting you know I won’t have them Tomarow. Which did I say stinks! Soo ya if you have a-any suggjestions please let me Know. Thanks. Hopefully There in the bus lost and found when I get on the bus tomarrow. *:(

    P.S Sorry for my grammar ms. Benson would kill me if she saw this.
    Sorry for copying this twice but I need you to read this!

Comments are closed.